skip to content
Shostakovich's preludes and fugues : contexts, style, performance Preview this item
ClosePreview this item

Shostakovich's preludes and fugues : contexts, style, performance

Author: Mark Mazullo
Publisher: New Haven [Conn.] : Yale University Press, ©2010.
Edition/Format:   Print book : EnglishView all editions and formats
""Mazullo knows how to empower a performer's analytical and imaginative drive. He brings the music to life as a veritable carnival of expression, and gives listeners and performers the means to sample, test, question, connect, refine, judge, and endlessly reconsider all the kinds of expression that the work offers. What a joy this is!" James Parakilas, Bates College" ""An outstanding piece of work--illuminating,  Read more...
You are not connected to the Macalester College network. Access to online content and services may require you to authenticate with your library. Off-Campus Access (login)
Getting this item's online copy... Getting this item's online copy...

Find a copy in the library

Getting this item's location and availability... Getting this item's location and availability...


Find it in libraries globally
Worldwide libraries own this item


Named Person: Dmitriĭ Dmitrievich Shostakovich; Dmitrij Dmitrievič Šostakovič
Document Type: Book
All Authors / Contributors: Mark Mazullo
ISBN: 9780300149432 0300149433
OCLC Number: 449854115
Description: xviii, 286 pages : illustrations, music ; 25 cm
Contents: Shostakovich and the challenges of interpretation. Lost in translation ; The naked heart ; Essential truths --
Placing the preludes and fugues. Understanding the 1948 Resolution ; Public and private ; Wasted labor ; Analyses and metaphors --
The cycle as a whole. Back to Bach ; Shostakovich and the Russian contrapuntal tradition ; Strange bedfellows ; Shostakovich's earlier preludes, without fugues --
Personalities in pairs. The self seeking substance ; No. 1 in C major ; No. 2 in A minor ; No. 9 in E major ; No. 10 in C-sharp minor ; No. 15 in D-flat major ; No. 16 in B-flat minor --
Slow tendencies. The poetics of estrangement ; No. 4 in E minor ; No. 6 in B minor ; No. 8 in F-sharp minor ; No. 12 in G-sharp minor ; No. 13 in F-sharp major ; No. 14 in E-flat minor --
Active surfaces. Outbursts and thrill rides ; No. 3 in G major ; No. 5 in D major ; No. 7 in A major ; No. 11 in B major ; No. 17 in A-flat major ; No. 21 in B-flat major --
Completing the cycle. Listening for the plot. No. 18 in F minor ; No. 19 in E-flat major ; No. 20 in C minor ; No. 22 in G minor ; No. 23 in F major ; No. 24 in D minor --
The ethics of expression: towards a performance history. Embracing clichés ; The phobia of expression ; The performance as the work ; Sentimental and ideological traditions ; Performance, sincerity, and authenticity.
Responsibility: Mark Mazullo.
Local System Bib Number:


Suitable for pianists wishing to play Shostakovich's work as well as for listeners, this work studies Shostakovich's largest work for piano, the "Twenty-Four Preludes and Fugues, Opus 87". It  Read more...
Retrieving notes about this item Retrieving notes about this item


Editorial reviews

Publisher Synopsis

"Clear and convincing . . . there is much information articulated here that is useful for most readers who are interested in tackling the mysterious puzzle of Shostakovich's style."-Kori Bond, Read more...

User-contributed reviews


Be the first.
Confirm this request

You may have already requested this item. Please select Ok if you would like to proceed with this request anyway.

Close Window

Please sign in to WorldCat 

Don't have an account? You can easily create a free account.